Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles

IMG_0749

1975 – Directed by Chantal Akerman

This is hypnotically tedious, which is not to say boring….

Okay this was very painful. I found myself in the course of watching this movie becoming self-aware of every little action if my own: Making breakfast. Stirring a cup of coffee. The exact gestures that I make when I’m pulling out dishes and laying them down.

I don’t know if it’s therapeutically smart for middle-age single mom to even watch this movie.

Much too real.

I know that Chantal Akerman dislikes labels being applied to this movie, and I would agree. I think that it’s better to not view it is “feminist” or as making any particular kind of commentary on the “role of Woman” or anything like that.

I do find brilliance in the way the housewife’s world begins to slowly unravel. Potatoes overcook. She can’t find the buttons she needs. Someone is sitting in her booth at the coffee shop. She can’t even decide how she wants to drink her coffee.

The ending is obviously distressing. However, it is not my main take away from the movie.

With that said, I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to make meatloaf again without feeling a little crazy.

Stray thought: Jeanne could learn a little about use of sofa beds on the disposal of a stabbed body from the characters in the last movie…

Next up: Foreign Correspondent, 1940 – Directed by Alfred Hitchcock

One comment

Leave a Reply

