Flashback Film – Performance (1970)

Midweek Music!

Performance, with Mick Jagger and James Fox, is a very strange movie with very amazing score.

Trailer

Memo From Turner. I feel like the entire sensibility of The Sopranos is lifted from this music sequence. No wait, that sensibility is lifted from Goodfellas. Or even Mean Streets. Maybe Scorsese saw this. I dunno. I think this must be the origin of the Rolling Stones + gangsters trope. Even though this is not the Rolling Stones, proper.

When I see James Fox in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, in the Veruca Salt song, I think of Performance. And for me, the songs are slightly talking to each other.

Leave a Reply

