Flashback Film – A Beautiful Mind (2001)

Cover of "A Beautiful Mind"

Cover of A Beautiful Mind

This movie really gets to me. In A Beautiful Mind, Russell Crowe plays John Nash, the mathematician who did research into what has become known as Game Theory. The movie is stunning, and goes into the mental anguish Nash suffered.

What is really powerful about this movie, for me, is that Crowe’s portrayal of Nash (and Ron Howard‘s telling of the story) reminds me so much of my own father. Also a brilliant math/science mind and also suffering from very similar mental struggles.

I don’t want to give too much away, but this movie ties into today’s theme in a significant way.

At any rate, I recommend this one strongly. And I don’t usually go for typically lauded Hollywood products.

Leave a Reply

